Friends Through Hell

Life is not easy as a person suffering from mental illness. There’s so many ups and downs and I never know which is better, the up part or the down. Each one comes with its own trials and tribulations.
Yet, today I’d like to do a shoutout to our many friends. This is for all of you who watch us suffer, grow, heal and fall back down. Thank you for being there with us in our hell and for teaching us how to fly when we forget how to use our wings.
Good friends are priceless. And I’ve learned that sometimes they make all the difference in my mental health.

I gulped down a can
Of bright, red paint
Its color was 100 mph
So the label said
And it was true…

For I felt it cascading
Down my throat
Filling each crevice
And chink and dent
Millions of em; who knew?

I was a walking sculpture
Of bloodied hell
Fireworks, explosions
Red pain searing
Blistering; grueling view.

And you stood by me
Walked through the blaze
Cleared the smoke
Focused on a vision
The whole way through…

Artistry and skill
And so much goodwill
A heart that’s made of gold
With kind precision
Transformed the red statue.

Brush strokes of kin
Added gloss to red paint
And sketched roses
Bordeaux wine, maraschino
An image brand new…

I swallowed red paint
But maybe it’s not all bad
Who said red’s solely hellish
Maybe it is a brother
For I know it’s friendship too!

Author: Gittel

Art is the desire of a man to express himself, to record the reactions of his own personality to the world he lives in. -Guitar-Watercolors-Poetry-Journaling-Blogging-Teddy Bear Petting-

2 thoughts on “Friends Through Hell”

Leave a Reply

