Mirror, Mirror, On The Wall…

You watch me
Wipe my tears away
Tear-stained kerchief
Lone star on the field.
You watch me
Apply extreme black mascara
Glittery eye shadow
Concealing puffy, red lids.
You watch me
And you’re silent
Don’t you know
That silence is consent…

You watch me
Spread a soothing layer
Of warm, vanilla cream
Atop my fading scars.
You watch me
Examine fingernail scratches
The sad evidence
To hellish dreams.
You watch me
And still, you’re silent
How could you?
Silence is consent…

You watch me
Don a pair of jeans
As I silently hope
For it to be alright.
You watch me
Comb through my hair
As I try to embrace
Another day of struggle.
You watch me
In absolute silence
If you only knew
That silence is consent…

You watch me
Swallow another pill
And you know deep down
It won’t fix anything.
You watch me
Smother on lipstick
Trying to feel pretty
When all I feel is self-hate.
You watch me
And you’re silent
Mirror on the wall,
Silence is consent…

Author: Gittel

Art is the desire of a man to express himself, to record the reactions of his own personality to the world he lives in. -Guitar-Watercolors-Poetry-Journaling-Blogging-Teddy Bear Petting-

Leave a Reply

