Let’s Meet on the Road to Recovery

I am currently in the process of healing, having been through several suicidal attempts due to my anxiety and depression. Recovery is a rather slow course and a long road. Yet, each day I am one step closer to my final goal. I say it is a long road because sometimes I fall back. They say, old habits die hard. And they’re right. It is hard to tackle stress when the only coping mechanism my brain knows is suicidal thoughts. Still, I don’t let those instances of relapse define me. I am patiently teaching my mind and heart new and healthy strategies on how to cope with pain.

I know what despair feels like; I’ve been there not too long ago. And, nobody should ever have to feel what darkness is like. That is why I am writing. I have launched this blog to talk about the bittersweet and to spread awareness. In no way though, is this in place or instead of professional help from a trained or licensed individual. 

I am profoundly touched and honored when people come forward and tell me that I have made a difference. Even more so, when it is the people in pain who reach out; for I know their world and I know what strength it takes to break the silent and isolated suffering. Yes, it is for those of you that I write. I want to give that secluded world of heartache a voice; the voice it so deserves. Furthermore, I want to encourage you to take a step out of that world, reach out and ask for help.

But, I am not -and cannot be- in place of professional help. I am not a trained professional. I am not a licensed therapist. I do not have a PhD in psychology. Nor do I know you or your life-story. There is no way for me to know what makes you tick and what triggers you. Thus, I will say that asking me for professional advice is not a good idea. I am not in a position to give you that. This doesn’t mean you shouldn’t reach out. You should. But please, reach out to someone who can help you; someone professional who will guide you through the ups and downs of mental illness. If you tell a therapist that you are thinking of hurting yourself he/she is mandated to alert the proper authorities and together they can work out a plan of care that works for you. So many wonderful and caring professionals are willing to assist you in your journey if you only allow them.

I am in recovery myself and I cannot allow myself to be dragged back into those dark places. I cannot afford to be triggered into destructive behavior again. I want to be a good friend and be here for everyone; but first myself.

Reach out to someone trained and professional who can help you with real, solid advice. Get started on the road to recovery and we can meet there.

 

Author: Gittel

Art is the desire of a man to express himself, to record the reactions of his own personality to the world he lives in. -Guitar-Watercolors-Poetry-Journaling-Blogging-Teddy Bear Petting-

2 thoughts on “Let’s Meet on the Road to Recovery”

  1. A very sensible and informative post! I like that you place emphasis on getting professional help for those that need it.It can be difficult enough dealing with your own mental illness, never mind helping others in your shoes.

    I give advice where I can but at the end of the day I am not inside that person’s head so I cannot fully comprehend what their going through. I’d also warn people to be wary of taking medication unless they have exploited every other alternative. I’m not saying that it’s a bad thing or something to be ashamed of, but once you start down that road it can be very hard to get of it. In my experience anyway.

    Like

    1. Thank you.
      As you said, at the end of the day we are not in the other person’s head and it’s hard to know what to say and what not to say.
      Yes, I love to help people and be there for them but only if they are getting professional help and recovery is their focus. Being pulled back into dark places is not what I’m going for.
      And everyone works differently so medication is a very personal and unique thing. I wouldn’t give general advice on that.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

