Unsweetened Tea

Flare-ups. They happen to Crohn’s disease patients. They happen to me too, though I don’t suffer from Crohn’s disease. I deal with depression. Yes, I take care of myself and yes, things are under control. Still, sometimes, the monster inside me will pop its head out, my jack-in-the-box.

If I’m with you when this happens, don’t get scared. It’ll pass. If you want to help me, give me just a little bit of time and space and I’ll be right back. You might want to ask me if I need a hug. It is not your fault that my monster emerged in your presence. No, you didn’t say anything hurtful. Nobody hurts me more than my own thoughts.

Recently, I spent a week on vacation with wonderful friends. As we were grooving one night, a flare-up happened. I stopped dancing and walked away to be with my own thoughts. I stared at the city skyline, flashing lights and black sky and felt so alone in the universe. My friends found me and came to sit with me as I sorted my thoughts out in poetry version. Suddenly, I didn’t feel so alone anymore although they were silent all throughout.

Your presence makes a difference. Be there for your friends. They need you.

Unsweetened Tea

Black sky
Flickering star
Shimmering sea
Where do I belong?

Rolling in grass
Staring nowhere
Feeling the groove
Trying to write my song

Big city
A lost soul
Flashing lights
For what do I long?

Jumble of sounds
Confused brain
Search my heart
What have I done wrong?

Blank life
Unsweetened tea
Take me or leave me
I wish I was strong.

Author: Gittel

Art is the desire of a man to express himself, to record the reactions of his own personality to the world he lives in. -Guitar-Watercolors-Poetry-Journaling-Blogging-Teddy Bear Petting-

3 thoughts on “Unsweetened Tea”

  1. Love the message. Your writing is so heartfelt and beautiful. You are not just a great writer but you have a special talent of describing the dark in a light way that doesn’t way down the reader, but rather inspires.

    Like

Leave a Reply

