A Bittersweet Symphony

“‘Cause it’s a bittersweet symphony, this life”

– song by The Verve

Life; a symphony comprised of highs, lows, bitter, sweet, good and bad. While we each play a unique role in creating the music, we also play to a common rhythm. There is a common denominator bringing all of us, humanity, together. And though, we each see life differently, deep down, we all strive for common goals and live for the same reasons. We all experience sadness and appreciate kindness. All of us, want to be happy, feel loved and make a difference. At different levels of intensity, we all experience the same emotions. We are unique and yet, we are identical. Today, I humbly invite you to join me as I focus on what brings us together. In penning my thoughts, I hope to bring you some insight or inspiration on what we call life.

Bitter? Sweet? Life happens. And I’ve discovered that bitter and sweet aren’t all black and white. There is a sour, pungent lemon base to lemonade and a heavenly aroma to unsweetened tea. I’d like to believe, that my pen is my stirrer and with it, I unearth the unsweet in lemonade and the sugar in unsweetened tea. Perhaps, it is my baton with which I conduct the bittersweet symphony of life.

Somewhere, along the way, we began worshiping the sweet, the victories, the happy. Maybe, just maybe, the time has come to discover the sweet in unsweet; to talk about the unsweetened tea, that which defines us. No, I don’t believe in simply ignoring the sweet. I do believe in a brutally honest portrayal of us, people. Our strengths and weaknesses, our pain and joy, our bitter and sweet. I’d like to believe that by sharing my bitter and sweet experiences, my bitter and sweet thoughts and emotions, I can inspire change for the better. Even if it’s just me.

To sweet and unsweet. To unsweetened tea and lemonade. To writing and inspiring. To penning my happy and sad and the things that bring us together. And to the bittersweet symphony of life. Cheers!

And welcome.

Author: Gittel

Art is the desire of a man to express himself, to record the reactions of his own personality to the world he lives in. -Guitar-Watercolors-Poetry-Journaling-Blogging-Teddy Bear Petting-

2 thoughts on “A Bittersweet Symphony”

  1. You write so lovely. Your message is powerful.
    The “sugar of unsweetened tea” reminds me of a great clip I recently heard. Maybe you will like it too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

